Shove Records

ABSTRACTER "Tomb Of Feathers"


"ABSTRACTER is the latest sonic monstrosity to emerge from the gutters of the San Francisco Bay Area's enigmatic extreme music underground. Formed in 2010 and coming out of complete obscurity, these four obscure slime mongers from Oakland have crafted a debut that is both mesmerizing in its seemingly effortless ability to constructmassive and enveloping soundscapes, and annihilating in it's brutal, relentless, and merciless sonic grasp on the listener's synapses. With forty minutes of music divided solely among three mammoth tracks, this bile-drenched debut is clearly a vessel for music that has at it's core the urge and primordial instinct to drag the listener into a vast, violent, and obscure world all of its own. Written in 2011 over a span of just a few months, Tomb of Feathers displays ABSTRACTER's unique sound and style of songwriting, influenced by bands like Amebix, Swans, Godflesh, Corrupted, Darkthrone, and His Hero Is Gone, and shaped by elements borrowed from a vast array of genres, spanning from black metal, to crust and doom metal, to shoegazing and psychedelic rock, to hardcore punk and noise music. The work itself is a single-themed concept album about madness and mental disease as a result of the extreme and cynical individualism that permeates humanity. Entirely self-produced and self-funded by the band Tomb of Feathers was recorded live in three days (one track per day), directly to 22 track - 2 inch analog tape by sound engineer Josh Garcia (Melvins, Dwarves). The recordings were then passed on to Greg Wilkinson (Brainoil, Lycus, Laudanum, High On Fire, Noothgrush, OM, Atriarch, Sleep, Worm Ouroboros, Vohl) at Hear Hammer Studios for mixing, and were then shipped to Philadelphia to be mastered by James Plotkin (Isis, Sunn O))), Old, Khanate, etc)."

Track Listing
01. Walls That Breathe
02. To Vomit Crows
03. Ash