Dingleberry Records

CORTEZ "Initial"


"WOOAAARGH and Get A Life Records! are pleased to announce that they will co-release the 10th-anniversary edition of Initial by Swiss hardcore legends CORTEZ. The album is completely remixed and remastered and will be issued on 12” vinyl on September 9th 2016.

This release is also the end of an era, in the sense that today only the two of the original trio remain, the composers Grégoire Quartier and Samuel Vaney. Like their 2nd album Phoebus, this re-edition has been mixed and mastered by Samuel Vaney at their Autoclave Studio in Singapore.

Cortez emerged from a telluric womb in Switzerland in 2001 as an unusual power-trio: drum, guitar, singer. They came searching for sounds, and charismatically crying a huge, dense and corrosive one themselves.
Astonishing the audience’s mind by its intense and incandescent charisma on stage, the resulting display is pure passion, melancholy, and fundamentally human – perhaps all too human – emotion.
Their raw ingredients include musical materials from post-hardcore, noise, and metal. However, they are not bound by conventional genres. They interpret, blend and reinterpret musical concepts to form their own unique sound.
Cortez has toured Europe and Russia with many great bands, including THE DILLINGER ESCAPE PLAN, ISIS, UNSANE, JESU, GOJIRA, BURST, THE OCEAN, KEN MODE... Among others."

Track Listing:
01. Prompt
02. Mine de Rien
03. L'Enjeu
04. El Vetic
05. Marasme
06. Néant
07. L.M.T.v
08. B.M.T.v
09. Notice
10. Patriarche