Your Cart is Empty



Estimated Shipping Widget will be displayed here! (with custom color)

Massachusetts metal act MouthBreather have announced their fourth album, Self-Tape, set for release November 10th on Good Fight Music. Having shared the early single “You Try To Die” in June, today the band follow it up with the absolutely chaotic “Ethical Hunting.” Creating their own genre - Gadget Metal - MouthBreather fuse together elements of metallic hardcore, technical metal, post-hardcore, and more into a frenzied swirl. “Ethical Hunting” is two minutes of pure rage, as scathing vocals meet monster sized riffs and more eccentric moments tie it all together. The song is inspired by a scene in the horror thriller The House That Jack Built, tying into the album’s concept of each track being influenced by a different movie. The short film that accompanies “Ethical Hunting” follows its own psychological thriller path, creative and uncomfortable. The video was produced by vocalist Brett Cates and Sof Puchley, directed by Louie Chapman.

Self-Tape is unrelentingly heavy, crushing, and unforgiving. It’s an album of mental decline captured through the influence of films that have inspired the band at key points in their lives, from horror to drama. In true MouthBreather fashion the record is totally original, but fans of 2021’s I’m Sorry Mr. Salesman, 2018’s Dollmeat, and 2017’s Pig will all find connectivity. The album was produced by Nick Cates and Ryan Fosdick, and mixed by Nick Cates, at Burnout Labs, and mastered by Jay Maas (Defeater) at Getaway Recording.

01. Ethical Hunting
02. Imaginary Skin
03. Wave to Me
04. You Try to Die
05. Shotgun Funeral
06. iDoctor
07. Rot Out
08. I Know Best
09. Solemate
10. Self-Tape

All LPs are sent in robust vinyl mailers to avoid any cosmetic damage during transit, but note that the store isn't responsible for seam splits, bent corners and potential sound issues.