Your Cart is Empty

PIG HEART TRANSPLANT "For Mass Consumption"

Estimated Shipping Widget will be displayed here! (with custom color)

"PIG HEART TRANSPLANT is the alter ego of Jon Kortland, one half of the men that comprise the surgical Powerviolence duo Iron Lung. Like Iron Lung, PIG HEART TRANSPLANT delivers both a vicious beating and violent outcome, however the operating methodology is an entirely different animal; slow, churning, industrial, electronic, painfully percussive, a bureaucratic nightmare of State Power with gears grinding the individual into a hallow shell, perfectly molded into one of Them. This is 1984.

For Mass Consumption is composed of 28 tracks, each approximately 44 seconds long, each song title a 4 letter word, structured in a perfectly palatable way for optimum group adoption and mindless adherence to common purpose. Electronic manipulation, no wave guitar noise, abrasive hammering and eerie synthetic ambience imbue the listener with the seedy malaise of manipulation on a societal scale. One might recognize the pulverizing brutality of early Swans on tracks like ‘Film’ or ‘Pigs’, the pulsing throb of Brighter Death Now and IRM on ‘Coma’ or even Robert McNaugton’s soundtrack work for Henry: Portrait Of Serial Killer on ‘1970’ or ‘1980’. Without doubt a horrifying work of aural terror, For Mass Consumption is the logical result of a culture bent on banal conformity and the futile struggle against its domination."

Track Listing
01. Drug
02. Film
03. Gift
04. Born
05. Male
06. Numb
07. Pigs
08. Acts
09. Pray
10. Swim
11. Thaw
12. Coma
13. Copy
14. 1970
15. Dirt
16. Used
17. City
18. Line
19. Home
20. Scum
21. Safe
22. Half
23. Edit
24. Belt
25. Mute
26. Sold
27. 1980


All LPs are sent in robust vinyl mailers to avoid any cosmetic damage during transit, but note that the store isn't responsible for seam splits, bent corners and potential sound issues.