Your Cart is Empty

BODUF SONGS "Stench Of Exist"

Estimated Shipping Widget will be displayed here! (with custom color)

"England / Ohio’s Mat Sweet presents his latest album under the BODUF SONGS moniker via The Flenser! Stench of Exist is at once his most accessible and most esoteric work to date; from the opium flow of the tracks, running headily into one another like tributaries to river, to the muted-industrial-electronic-effected drums underscoring the spiraling melodies and fluttering drones, to the clean and rich guitar, abstracted cycles and feedback walls, its whispered doom metal masquerades as a lullaby. Stench of Exist unfolds languorously, laced with mysterious electronic filigree. Gorgeously intimate, it transforms the minimal into maximal with layers of electro-detritus wreathed in lush guitar strums, street-side field recordings, reverberating pianos and softly crooned vocals. It is a record of rain and cities and nighttime. The collision of arabesque tonalities with electronic sound and ambience brings to mind the promise of Blade Runner—half-asleep at 4:00 A.M. and slightly medicated, with pyramids and flame-spewing cityscapes in downpour glowing against the fluttering eyelids in the almost-dreaming consciousness. A record for saturnine commuters, on headphones, after sunset."

Track Listing
01. Jacket Cruiser
02. My Continuing Battle With Material Reality
03. Thwart by Thwart
04. The Witch Cradle
05. Great Anthem of My Youth
06. Head of Hollow-Fill and Mountaintop Removal
07. The Rotted Names
08. Grows in the Small World of Nerve
09. Modern Orbita
10. Last Song Save One
101. Sky Pedal’s Plan


All LPs are sent in robust vinyl mailers to avoid any cosmetic damage during transit, but note that the store isn't responsible for seam splits, bent corners and potential sound issues.