Your Cart is Empty

CHERUBS "Icing (30th Anniversary Reissue)"

Estimated Shipping Widget will be displayed here! (with custom color)

30+ years ago in Austin, TX 1992, cult kings of noise rock, CHERUBS, released their debut album, Icing, via Butthole Surfers drummer, King Coffey’s, label Trance Syndicate. Originally recorded and produced by Mr. Colson (L7, Dwarves, Linkin Park), Icing has now been fully remastered and remixed from the original source tapes by Eric Wofford (Explosions in the Sky, Young Widows, The Black Angels), complete with new album art by the band’s Kevin Whitley.

Much darker, aggressive and rawer than the material CHERUBS would become known for, Icing captures the band at their most primitive form while hinting at the melodic intricacies they would develop over the years. While still very much a “noise rock” album, Icing brings together influences from Seattle’s first wave of late 80’s grunge alongside the influential “noise” scene happening in Austin throughout the 90’s. The album’s single “All Chickened Out” even received some airplay on BBC Radio 1 by John Peel…a sure sign of the prestige such ugly, aggressive and deconstructed “music” would receive over the coming decades. This is where it all started for CHERUBS and somehow it’s still happening over three decades later.

Track Listing:
01. Sugary
02. All Chickened Out
03. Half a Rat
04. Come
05. Ginger Upper
06. Fed
07. Shoofly
08. Pink Party Dessert
09. Vicki's Retreat
10. Kick Me


All LPs are sent in robust vinyl mailers to avoid any cosmetic damage during transit, but note that the store isn't responsible for seam splits, bent corners and potential sound issues.