Throatruiner Records

PLEBEIAN GRANDSTAND "False Highs, True Lows"


"Great bands inspire vocations, PLEBEIAN GRANDSTAND annihilate them. It’s hard not to laugh hysterically while listening to the band’s third album «False Highs, True Lows», which destroys any desire to play music that intense. Formed in Toulouse in 2005, the french quartet never ceased to feed its insatiable appetite for dissonance and bleakness, slowly morphing from their former noisy, metallic hardcore to what could be the ultimate blend of black metal, sludge and noise. On the heels of their acclaimed 2014 album «Lowgazers» and after countless shows in North America, India and Europe that forged their new rhythmical section, the band returned to Amaury Sauvé’s The Apiary studio during december 2015 to prove that their previous body of work was just a ladder to something even more suffocating.

«False Highs, True Lows» is PLEBEIAN GRANDSTAND’s most accomplished effort to date; with guitars ranging between dry-heaving riffs, light-speed melodies and crushing sludgier parts, a terrifying, surgically savage drum performance full of maniacal blasts beats and martial rhythms, and the most angst-ridden vocal performance since the invention of waterboarding. Despite the fact that the record was tracked live and no matter how organic the spectacular production job sounds, everything seems barely played by humans. This is the culmination of three decades of extreme and forward-thinking music spitted out with the visceral, abrasive approach of their early days, and an out-of-this-world recording by one of the most intimidating, essential acts ouf our time."

- Recorded and mixed by Amaury Sauvé at The Apiary studio, Laval
- Mastered by Nick Zampiello and Rob Gonnella At New Alliance East Mastering, Boston
- Artwork by Olivier Lolmède

The 12" comes on limited blood red or black vinyl and is housed in a reverse-side printed jacket with spot UV varnish, inside print and printed innersleeve. CD comes in a six-panels digipack.

US customers : please order from Deathwish Inc to save on shipping costs (instant digital download is included).

Track Listing
01. Mal Du Siècle
02. Low Empire
03. Tributes And Oblivions
04. Volition
05. Mineral Tears
06. Oculi Lac
07. Tame The Shapes
08. Eros Culture