Your Cart is Empty

WHITE SUNS "Psychic Drift"

Estimated Shipping Widget will be displayed here! (with custom color)

"New York City’s noise duo WHITE SUNS have existed since 2006 and have released three full-length albums – Waking In The Reservoir (UgExplode, 2011), Sinews (Load, 2012) and Totem (The Flenser, 2014) – along with a handful of small-run releases. Their material has received accolades from the New Yorker, SPIN, Pitchfork, and Tiny Mix Tapes among others, and they’ve extensively toured the U.S. and garnered a reputation as a threatening and intense live act. This summer, WHITE SUNS will release their challenging fourth album, Psychic Drift, via label partner The Flenser.

Following the deconstructed rock instrumentation of 2014’s Totem, WHITE SUNS’ Dana Matthiessen and Kevin Barry continue their inexorable plunge into sonic abstraction. Psychic Drift consists of four long-form compositions where synthesizers, field recordings, cut-up samples and lurching rhythms form a tapestry of shifting layers. The focus here is on texture and atmosphere, utilizing repurposed aspects of drone, industrial and harsh noise to create claustrophobic soundscapes that ripple and groan. Artwork by Robert Beatty (NY Times, The Flaming Lips, Thee Oh Sees)."

Track Listing
01. Korea
02. Pilgrim
03. A Year Without Summer
0 4. Medicine Walk


All LPs are sent in robust vinyl mailers to avoid any cosmetic damage during transit, but note that the store isn't responsible for seam splits, bent corners and potential sound issues.