Your Cart is Empty

WOWOD "Yarost' | Proschenie"

Estimated Shipping Widget will be displayed here! (with custom color)

Emerging from St. Petersburg’s musical underbelly, WOWOD return with their second album ‘Yarost’ I Proshchenie’ - their first to be released internationally, via Church Road Records.

Since their formation in 2017, the bands foundational sound of post-metal expansion and blackened hardcore wrath has earned them a quiet reverence for those in the know both nationally and worldwide.
On their latest release, the Russian quintet showcase their evolution with a devastatingly fatalistic and vicious refinement of their sonic palette.

Album opener ‘Rekviem’ serves as a tense and fraught introduction to
‘Yarost’ I Proshchenie’ with foreboding electronics crackling uneasily below the surface of the rhythm section, whilst cataclysmic bass and The Angelic Process-esque doomgaze restlessly coexist throughout the songs 11 minute runtime.

In contrast, their propensity for d-beat rage and black metal bile on ‘Zhazhda’, ‘Zov Tysyachi Nozhey’ and the blistering ‘Tanec Yarosti’ offer up an insight into WOWOD’s entirely individual musical paradigm of light and shade. This paradigm becomes increasingly apparent on their longer cuts such as ‘Chornaya Zemlya’, ‘Top’’ and the monolithically tectonic ‘Obrechenie pt. 2’, where shoegaze and doom intertwine with mesmeric results.

Toweringly cerebral in song structure and ambition, yet perniciously thrilling in execution - WOWOD’s latest album feels both comprehensively human in its anxiety and otherworldly in its expansive musicianship.

Track Listing :
01. Rekviem
02. Zhazhda
03. Proshchenie
04. Chornaya Zemlya
05. Zov Tysyachi Nozhey
06. Obrechenie pt. 1
07. Obrechenie pt. 2
08. Tanec Yarosti
09. Top’


All LPs are sent in robust vinyl mailers to avoid any cosmetic damage during transit, but note that the store isn't responsible for seam splits, bent corners and potential sound issues.