Your Cart is Empty

SANNHET "Revisionist"

Estimated Shipping Widget will be displayed here! (with custom color)

"Revisionist is the second full-length from Brooklyn avant-post-metal outfit SANNHET (the word means “truth” in Norwegian) and their first for The Flenser. Founded in late 2010, the instrumental trio has amassed a diehard audience within the borough’s broad underground music circuit through their numerous live performances, always choreographed with electrifying visuals. SANNHET released their sprawling debut full-length Known Flood in February of 2013 on Sacrament, the record label run by the co-owner of legendary Brooklyn bar / venue St. Vitus. Continuing where Known Flood leaves off, Revisionist delivers an epic, trance-inducing concoction of math-metal intricacy, prismatic pop shimmer, and dense metallic crush. Dynamic indie rock-isms and the metal-gaze sound of like-minded combos Deafheaven or Alcest are distilled into concise song structures. At the same time, SANNHET offers the powerful emotiveness of instrumental post-rock acts like Explosions in the Sky or Godspeed You! Black Emperor, packing just as many musical ideas and majestic heights into a compact blast. Revisionist was mixed by Andrew Schneider (Unsane, Converge, Red Sparrows) and mastered by Carl Saff (Forest Swords, Guided by Voices, Pygmy Lush). “SANNHET makes music that largely defies categorization—it’s epic, cinematic stuff; its complex instrumentation is employed in the service of soaring, breathtaking music.” —Stereogum “… welds the power of black metal, sludge metal, and grindcore to the structures and orders of post-rock and post-punk.” —Pitchfork “…SANNHET's tools are dynamics and texture, deployed over simple melodic arcs… Instru-metal succeeds when it remember that it’s metal.” —Decibel “… soaring post-rock with elements of black metal tremolo-picking, hardcore, and more. Think Russian Circles meets Altar of Plagues.” —Brooklyn Vegan

Track Listing
01. Revisionist
02. Lost Crown
03. Enemy Victorian
04. You Thy __
05. Sinking Forward
06. Atrium
07. Empty Harbor
08. Mint Divine
09. False Pass


All LPs are sent in robust vinyl mailers to avoid any cosmetic damage during transit, but note that the store isn't responsible for seam splits, bent corners and potential sound issues.